- County Clerk
- Marriage Licenses
Marriage license are issued Monday through Friday during the hours from 8 a.m. to 4 p.m. only.
What to Bring
To obtain a marriage license BOTH the bride and groom must be present in the clerk’s office and provide proper identification, such as a:
- Drivers License
- Green Card
- Social Security Card
The marriage license application may be completed using the online application. The couple’s information will be saved to the County Clerk’s computer system in order to speed up the process when you arrive at the Clerk’s office.
Under 17 Years of Age - no marriage license can be issued. No exceptions. TCA 36-3-105.
The fee for a marriage license is $102.50. A discounted fee of $42.50 is available if the couple completes marriage counseling and provides a signed and notarized counseling affidavit from the individual providing the counseling. In order to receive this discount, the counseling form must be turned in when applying for the marriage license. View the counseling form. Only cash or debit/credit cards are accepted as forms of payment for marriage license.
The Maury County Clerk’s office does not perform marriage ceremonies. All regular ministers, preachers, pastors, priests, rabbis and other spiritual leaders of every religious belief, more than eighteen (18) years of age, having the care of souls, and various civil officials are authorized by law to solemnize a marriage. Notary Publics may also solemnize a marriage. Persons receiving online ordinations may not solemnize the rite of matrimony.
Returning Official Licenses
Marriage license should be returned to the clerk within 3 business days following the ceremony. When license is returned, the marriage certificate is issued free of charge. Marriage certificates must be picked up at the Clerk’s office. The souvenir certificate is available upon request for the fee of $5.00 Duplicate marriage certificates are $3.00 each.
Marriage records dating back to 1807 are maintained in the County Clerk’s office for all licenses obtained in Maury County. Copies of marriage certificate may be retrieved from these marriage records for a fee of $3.00 each.
Certified Marriage Certificates
Certified copies of a Tennessee marriage certificates are issued through the TN Department of Vital Records for the last 50 years. Please use the link below to obtain the certified certificate:
Application for Certified Marriage Certificate
Applications should be mailed to: Tennessee Vital Records Andrew Johnson Tower, 1st Floor 710 James Robertson Parkway Nashville, TN 37243