Motor Vehicles & License plates
- New Vehicles
- Used Vehicles
- Moving to Tennessee
- Replacement of Lost TN Titles
- Noting of Lien
- Selling of Vehicle
- Disabled Person Plate / Placard
- Military Plates
- Specialty or Personalized License Plates
- Organ Donor Awareness
Purchaser needs to have in their possession Manufacturer Statement of Origin (MSO), completed by dealer and purchaser and odometer statement. Also, need a bill of sale stating the amount of tax collected and lien holder information (if applicable). If vehicle is purchased out of state and sales tax is lower than Tennessee, then the difference will be collected at time of registration.
Purchaser will need to provide (photo) proof of identification and proof of residency when titling and registering a vehicle.
Purchaser should have title in their possession with the buyer and seller's signature. Odometer is required for vehicles 2011 or newer. Tax will be collected at time of registration unless dealer collected tax. Selling price of vehicle has to be 75% of book value. Low selling price will delay process of issuing title.
An Affidavit of Non-Dealer Transfers of Motor Vehicles and Boats (also called Low Selling Price Affidavit or Gift Affidavit) can be used for low selling price or gift.
Do not purchase vehicle if seller's signature does not match the name on the front of the title.
If lien appears on front of title, make sure it has been released before purchasing.
Owns vehicle & has title - Please bring your out of state title to our office.
Own vehicle & is making payments - Please bring the most current registration and full name and address of the lien holder to our office.
Leasing vehicle - You will need to contact and receive a limited power of attorney from the lessor before you can register the vehicle. Once you receive this, you will need to bring the limited power of attorney, current registration as well as the lease agreement to our office.
On all out of state transactions, the new resident will need to provide (photo) proof of identification and proof of Maury County residency when titling and registering a vehicle. Only the person(s) on the title or registration can register the vehicle.
The cost of transferring out of state title and obtaining new standard TN plate and registration is $73.
A Tennessee title is the only title that may be replaced. Out of state titles must be replaced in the state they were issued.
To obtain a replacement title, a duplicate title application must be completed and signed by registered owner. The owner must come into the Clerk's office to apply for duplicate title.
If owner chooses, he or she can choose to complete a Power of Attorney Form, which enables someone other than the registered owner to obtain a replacement title. Owner's signature must be on the Power of Attorney Form. Replacement title fee is $19.
A lien may only be noted on a Tennessee title. In order to note a lien, a Noting of Lien Application must be completed and signed by the registered owner. You will also need a TN title and a security agreement between the lender and borrower. Noting of lien is $30.
Registered owner of vehicle signs his/her name as signature of seller. Individual obtaining ownership of vehicle signs their name as buyer with complete address. Seller should never sign off on title without completing buyer potion; this is known as an open title. This could result into penalties to seller.
When selling a vehicle with multiple owners only one signature is required on title, if registered to two or more and is joined by "or". If joined by "and", both signatures are required.
Disabled individual must have Application For Disabled Person License Plate/Placard completed by physician to obtain plates or placard. Disabled Person license plates are $54. If permanently confined to wheelchair, license plate is free.
Permanent Disabled Person placards are available for persons with a disability from which they will not recover. These placards must be renewed every two years. If disabled individual has a vehicle registered in their name, the initial placard is free. If no vehicle is registered in their name, placard is $26.50, renewable every two years for $3.
Temporary Disabled Person placards are available for persons with conditions from which they will recover in a given period of time. Temporary placard fee is $10 and covers a period of 6 months. It may be renewed once but the time must run concurrent with the original issuance and must be supported by a new application completed by the physician.
The price for regular license plate renewal is $54 per year. The price for regular personalized or cultural plates is $90 per year. The price for personalized cultural or specialty plates is $125 per year.
For your convenience, you may renew:
- By mail at:
10 Public Square
Columbia, TN 38401
- Auto Assistant App
- Online at tncountyclerk.com.
- In Mt. Pleasant and Spring Hill at the renewal kiosks (see below).
You may renew your license plate within 90 days before or after the expiration date. If you have moved from another county and need to update your address, you will need to come into the office and bring proof of your current Maury County address.
License Plate Renewal Kiosks
Renew your license plate at our kiosks located at:
*Spring Hill City Hall - 199 Town Center Parkway - Spring Hill TN 37174 - Monday to Friday 8 am to 4:30 pm
*Mt. Pleasant Court House - 130 Bluegrass Ave - Mt Pleasant TN 38474 - Monday to Friday 8am to 5 pm
Any Maury County resident may use either kiosk. Renewal notice or current registration is required to renew.
How to Operate Kiosks
- Scan renewal notice or registration barcode
- Swipe your debit or credit card
- Kiosk prints your registration and decal
To obtain a military plate the owner must be active duty military and provide a LES and stationing orders. The cost for a military plate is an additional $3.30 when issued.
Owners of vehicles who are retired or honorably discharged may obtain the Retired/Honorably Discharged plate. The cost for the RH plate is an additional $3.30 when issued.
Disabled Veteran Plates are available to veterans who are 100% disabled or paid at 100% disabled.
Information for all military plates is available at this link.
Specialty License Plates
The State of Tennessee offers more than 100 specialty license plates for Tennessee motorists to display on their registered motor vehicles.All license plates are available for viewing at this link.
Personalized plates are available online at: